EnplugEmails: The 17 companies that became $1+ billion in 2014

Nanxi Liu

The EnplugEmails series on my blog are real emails that I’ve sent to my teammates at Enplug. I’m sharing some of these emails because I thought they might be useful to other startup founders. Here’s the latest one:

_________________________________________________

Subject line: The New Unicorns of 2014

Hi Team,

The list of all the private companies that reached $1 billion valuations in 2014 was published on VentureBeat today. Thanks, Jessie, for sharing it with me.

There were 17 companies in total this year that reached the milestone. Investors call these companies “Unicorns” because of how rare they are. Thousands of startups are founded each year and only 17 hit a billion this year. And one is a customer!

I wanted to learn more about these companies and benchmark Enplug because we’re striving to be a Billion too. I took some notes- shared with you below. Here is my key takeaway:
 
Average time it…

View original post 442 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

